Our Board and advisory team

Healthway Board

Our seven-member Board was appointed by the State Government.

The Board follows the Board of Governance Charter, which outlines processes and the roles and responsibilities of all members. The Board provides strategic direction and approves all our funding. 

Professor Peter Klinken AC joined the Healthway Board as Chair in October 2018. Professor Klinken is an eminent leader, academic, scientist, and for over 12 years was the Director of Western Australian Institute of Medical Research and the Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research. 

Presently he is the Chief Scientist of Western Australian ad holds a Companion of Order Australia. The current board members are Professor Peter Klinken AC, Ms Miriam Borthwick, and board members Mr Steve Harris, Ms Donna Van Bueren, Professor Cheryl Kickett-Tucker AM, Mr Jim McGinty AM and Mr Stephen Carre.

Advisory Panel

An expert Health Promotion Advisory Panel was appointed by the Minister for Health in July 2018. 

The Panel is led by Emeritus Professor Mike Daube AO and provides advice to the Board to ensure our work aligns with contemporary health promotion policies and practice. Current membership includes Professor Lisa Wood, Professor Darcy Holman AO, and Dr. Cheryl Kickett-Tucker AO. 

Research Committee

The Research Committee will support our research program and ensure applications are assessed for their scientific rigour and ability to contribute new evidence to health promotion policy and practice in WA.

Our current members are Dr Weeramanthri (Research Committee Chair), Professor Alison Garton, Professor Jane Scott, Dr Mick Adams, Associate Professor Hayley Christian, Dr Roslyn Giglia, Mr William Gilmore, Associate Professor Ben Jackson, Associate Professor Jonine Jancey, Dr Jocelyn Jones, Dr Yael Perry and Dr Laura Thomas.


Image: Professor Peter Klinken AC presenting the West Australian Music Song of the Year Award 2019.


Recent News

Sign up to our Newsletter